Kashmir Super League to feature 12 Pakistani players


MUZAFFARABAD: Following the immense success of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), another home-grown cricket league Kashmir Super League, though not initiated by the Pakistan Cricket Board, is set to roll into action at the end of this month.

The league will commence from April 28 in Muzaffarabad. According to reports, six teams would participate in the KSL Twenty20 Championship 2018 at Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium from April 28 to May 12.

The six teams are: Muzaffarabad Qalandars, Bagh Badshah, Kotli Lions, Rawalkot Warriors, Mirpur Tigers and MK Fighters, said KSL chairman Masood Ahmed Khan. He said the organizers have roped in at least 12 Pakistan players for the league.

“Each team will have services of four national players, while we have sent a written request to Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for grant of NOC through Kashmir Cricket Association (KCA).

According to Khan, league organizers have signed some 12 Pakistani cricketers including Mohammad Irfan, Rahat Ali, Zulfiqar Babar, Aamer Yamin, Gulraiz Sadaf and Agha Salman.

The drafting of the players will be held on April 17.

The KSL chairman further said that the winners of the KSL title will get Rs2 million cash alongside the KSL trophy, while runners-up will be awarded Rs1 million.

Meanwhile, as per reports Pakistani cricketers will only be allowed to play in Kashmir Super League after a no-objection certificate is issued by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).