McCullum, Lynn, Russell and other big names join T10 League

Brendon McCullum T10 League

The eight franchises of T10 League gathered in Dubai on Monday for a mini draft where they picked their icon players and retained four players from the previous edition of the league.

Brendon McCullum, Chris Lynn, Andre Russell and Rashid Khan are among the big names that will feature the second season of the revolutionary league, which featured ICC’s presented SWOT list last year.

Brendon McCullum will be the icon player for Rajputs, while they also picked the hard-hitting Australian batsman Chris Lynn for their squad. On the other hand, Rashid Khan is picked by Maratha Arabians as their icon player.

West Indian star all-rounder Andre Russell will play for Northern Warriors.

Pakistan’s veteran all-rounders, Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik have been retained by their respective teams Pakhtoons and Punjabi Legends. Whereas, the champions of the inaugural edition of the league, Kerela Kings, have also chosen to retain their skipper, Eoin Morgan.

West Indies’ Darren Sammy, who played for Bengal Tigers in the first edition, will feature Northern Warriors this time. Pakistan’s captain Sarfraz Ahmed and the opening batsman Ahmed Shehzad have been released by their franchises.

Shane Watson is being selected as the icon player by the new franchise Karachians.

Northern Warriors also picked Dwayne Smith, Nicholas Pooran and Wahab Riaz. Whereas, Karachians went for Jofra Archer, Colin de Grandhomme, Ben Laughlin and Anton Devcich. Rajputs drafted Pakistan’s experienced all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez, Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad, and the Protean Riley Russow.

While Bengal Tigers selected the flamboyant English duo of Jason Roy and Sam Billings and Pakistan’s Asif Ali. Punjabi Legends picked Liam Plunkett, Evin Lewis. Pakhtoons drafted Colin Ingram in their side, followed by David Willey and Mohammad Irfan. Kerela Kings only picked Dasun Shanaka in the mini draft.

The main draft will take place on September 2, where franchises will pick eleven players for the tournament to be held in December.

The first season of T10 League was a huge success, the organizers have increased the franchise fee from $400,000 to $1.2 million, despite the hike, two new franchises, Karachians and Northern Warriors have entered the league.

The second season of the league is expected to be much competitive as eight teams will fight for the ultimate gold. Moreover, the second season will feature 28 games spread over ten days, which means more excitement for the fans.