Previous World T20 winners


The World T20 in India is drawing to a close as England and West Indies look to overpower one another in the final on Sunday. Both teams are well balanced and they will fight it out till the last ball in order to grab the elusive trophy and hence be crowned as World champions.

Both teams have won the World Cup once each with England getting hold of the trophy in 2010 and the Windies in 2012.

With the final of the inaugural edition of World T20 in India looming around the corner it is perhaps a golden opportunity to look at the previous winners of the ICC World T20.

2007 – India

India defeated Pakistan in the final of the inaugural event by 5 runs to clinch the title.


2009- Pakistan

Pakistan outclassed Sri Lankan in the final at the historic Lords cricket ground by 8 wickets.


2010- England

England finally managed to win a major ICC event as they overpowered Australia in the final by 7 wickets.


2012- West Indies

The Windies saw the return of their glory days as they handed Sri Lanka a second final defeat by 36 runs.


2014- Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka managed to win the coveted trophy as they defeated India by 6 wickets in the final.