Quetta Gladiators record third straight win


In the 7th match of the inaugural Pakistan Super League the Quetta Gladiators triumphed once again as they defeated the Peshawar Zalmi team by 3 wickets and recorded their third consecutive win in the tournament.

The Quetta team, under the captaincy of Sarfraz Ahmed, won the toss and elected to bowl first which has been the prefered choice of captains during the tournament uptil now. The gladiators were able to strangle the Peshawar Zalmi side once again through skillful bowling from their spinners. Mohammad Nawaz was brilliant once again as he took 3 wickets for just 29 runs off his four overs. The spin trio of Quetta Gladiators, Zulfiqar, Nawaz and Nabi, conceded just 73 runs in their 12 overs at an economy rate of 6.1 and also picked up 4 wickets.

Shahid Afridi was not able to contribute with the bat as he was sent packing for a duck by Umar Gul as the Peshawar captain attempted a pull shot which did not come off. A flurry of sixes from Darren Sammy towards the end of the Peshawar innings meant that they were able to post a competitive total of 135 runs in 20 overs. Sammy was the top scorer with 48 runs off 31 balls.


In reply the Quetta side were cruising to victory as they went about their job in efficient fashion with Kevin Pietersen and Sarfraz Ahmed leading the way but couple of quick wickets for Peshawar Zalmi brought them back in contention. When Kevin Pietersen was dismissed 35 runs it seemed as if Peshawar would just get over the line but it was time for Anwar Ali to shine once again as he smacked Tait for a six of the last ball of the 19th over. Quetta chased the target on the second last ball of the final over.


Mohammad Nawaz once again bagged the man of the match award who was delighted to receive the award but he vowed to improve his batting.

‘It is a big event, I just stuck to the basics. I was not thinking about turning the ball, I wanted to bowl in good lines and lengths. I will work on my batting and learn from my mistakes”, said Nawaz.


Quetta team owner Nadeem Omar and Sir Viv Richards were ecstatic on their win
Quetta team owner Nadeem Omar and Sir Viv Richards were ecstatic on their win