Ronchi, Shadab steer Islamabad United to their second PSL title

Ronchi, Shadab steer Islamabad United to their second PSL title

Luke Ronchi led Islamabad United to a 3-wicket win against Peshawar Zalmi in a jam-packed National Stadium Karachi to claim the Pakistan Super League’s trophy for the second time in three years.

The former Kiwi batsman, Luke Ronchi went all guns blazing against Peshawar Zalmi as they came out to chase 149 runs.

He started off the proceedings with two long sixes in the first over of the inning bowled by Hasan Ali followed by 15 runs milked in the fourth over of the inning bowled by Liam Dawson.
He raised his half-century on just 25 deliveries and got out after scoring 52 runs off 26 balls that included 5 sixes and four boundaries. He emerged as the highest run-scorer with 435 runs.

He contributed 96 runs with Sahibzada Farhan in just 53 balls.

Sahibzada Farhan by carried on his flamboyant batting despite losing Chadwick Walton and JP Duminy cheaply, both to Chris Jordan.

He, Samit Patel and Shadab Khan lost their wickets in quick successions at a score of 44, 10 and 1 run respectively. The sudden collapse gave an impression of a possible twist in the tale. Kamran Akmal dropped a catch of Asif Ali, which he should have taken and it cost Peshawar Zalmi dearly as he went on to finish the game.

Asif Ali deposited Hasan Ali for three consecutive maximums to take Islamabad United on the verge of victory.

Wahab Riaz got rid of Hussain Talat (7), but it was too late as the scores were level at that time.

Asif Ali remained unbeaten on 26 off 6 deliveries which featured three 6’s. Faheem Ashraf finished off the job for his team for a six.

Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali and Chris Jordan took two wickets each in the inning.

Earlier, Peshawar Zalmi did not look at their best as their star performers, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez and Darren Sammy flopped with the bat scoring 1, 8 and 6 runs respectively.

Their gamble of sending Chris Jordan at fourth position proved to be fruitful as he scored 36 runs off 26 deliveries. He had a handy 50 runs partnership with Liam Dawson. Zalmi looked well-settled on a score of 90/4 in 12.3 overs to launch for a big score, but wickets at quick successions changed the situation in Islamabad United’s favour.

However, Dawson lost his wicket soon after Jordan’s departure that increased Zalmi’s problems

Shadab Khan was instrumental in the game as he took three wickets for 25 runs in four overs, which had two back-to-back wickets of Darren Sammy and Umaid Asif that dented them severely.

Wahab Riaz’s late blitz took Peshawar Zalmi to a competitive total of 148/9.

The winner of the tournament gets $0.6 million while the runners-up receive $0.2 million.

At the end of Pakistan Super League’s third season concluded with awarding individual awards to the best players of the tournament.

Kumar Sangakkara was named the best wicketkeeper of the tournament for 9 catches and a stump.

JP Duminy received the award for the best fielder of the campaign. Whereas, Kamran Akmal was named as the best batsman of this edition’s PSL probably due to the century he scored.

Faheem Ashraf, on the other hand, received the award for the best bowler of the tournament. On the other hand, Luke Ronchi got the award for the Man of the Tournament.