Samiullah’s heroics crown SNGPL Quaid e Azam Trophy champions

Samiullah’s heroics crown SNGPL Quaid e Azam Trophy champions

Experienced left-arm pacer, Samiullah Khan’s vicious bowling spell gave Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) their sixth first-class title as they defeated WAPDA by 103 runs in the final of Quaid e Azam Trophy at National Stadium Karachi.

Samiullah, who was suffering from a knee injury, bowled brilliantly in the second inning to claim his career best figures of 8/62 and ended the match with overall bowling figures of 11/129.

The left-arm pacer had destroyed WAPDA’s batting line on the fourth day, which showed little resistance against the flamboyant bowling attack of SNGPL.

The Hafeez’s men needed three wickets on the final day of the big game to win the Quaid e Azam Trophy 2017-18. The last three WAPDA batsmen could only survive eleven overs on the fifth day of the final contest.

Only Wahab Riaz of WAPDA could test bowling arsenal of SNGPL on the final day as he scored 24 runs on 30 deliveries before he was undone by the man who was on fire, Samiullah Khan Niazi.

Earlier in the match, when SNGPL was struggling with 21/4, Iftikhar Ahmed and Mohammad Rizwan took the charge and scored 106 and 91 runs respectively to give their team a respectable total of 268 that set a target for WAPDA of 256.

Salman Butt & Co. was all out for 153 that give SNGPL a convincing win and their third title of Quaid E Azam, Trophy.