T10 League gets International Cricket Council sanction

T10 League gets International Cricket Council sanction

SHARJAH: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially sanctioned the second season of T10 League which will be held from November 23 in Sharjah, ARY News reported on Wednesday.

The apex body’s validation comes as a shot in the arm for the league that will have two new teams making them to a strong eight teams and a ten-day long season.

“This sanction from ICC for T10 League gives our partners, stakeholders and more importantly the players a much-needed boost. Having said that, it additionally gives us responsibility to ensure we keep growing year-on-year and make this format globally acceptable,” Shaji Ul Mulk, the Chairman of T10 League said.

The second edition of the tournament will be a 10-day cricket extravaganza starting November 23 with the player draft slated in September.

Afghanistan spin wizard Rashid Khan (Maratha Arabians), Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi (Pakhtoons) and Shoaib Malik (Punjabi Legends), England’s Eoin Morgan (Kerala Kings), New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum (Rajputs), West Indies’ Sunil Narine (Bengal Tigers) and Darren Sammy (Northern Warriors) and Australia’s Shane Watson (Karachians) have already been roped in as Icon players for their respective franchisees.

About the T10 League

The T10 league, like the Pakistan Super League, is a franchise-based tournament but features the 10-over format of the game.

It is the first internationally-approved league with a 10-over format that was launched by Chairman Shaji Ul Mulk, Founder of Mulk Holdings, and President Salman Iqbal, founder and CEO of ARY Digital Network.